2014 – Day 142

Read Spiritual Inventory Part 1 (page 1640 CR Bible)

Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing
and perfect will.
 Romans 12:2

The most difficult thing to open is a closed mind. I have, as I am sure many others have read regularly the cliche’ ‘The mind is like a parachute – it works better when it is opened.’ 

In recovery we must learn to deal with reality, face up to the truth about ourselves, our circumstances and our need for God’s help to change. The Bible tells us in John 8:32 ‘The truth will set you free.’  Jesus is the perfect standard of what is right. He frees us from the consequences of sin, from self-deception and from deception from the devil. He shows us clearly the way to right living and eternal life with God.

However, the freedom He gives us is not to do what we want in or own selfish nature, but freedom to follow God.

When we live and apply the principles of recovery to our lives on a daily basis Jesus’ perfect truth frees us to be all that God is calling us to be.

Prayer:

Lord help me today to deal with my reality. To identify the character defects in my life I need to work on and to trust You to give me all I need and to guide me to change them according to your will for my life.

