Scars

I heard this song on the radio on the other day…and I thought of the scars on my wrists from several of the many “suicide attempts” that I made when my addiction spiraled out of control and I became mentally unwell and suicidal with no will to live! The wounds were so unbearable at the time and I thought they would never heal! It was such a bleak dark time

For me today after over 14 years those scars have healed in all aspects of my life due to the healing power of Jesus Christ. They no longer fester and get ugly because through working the recovery process it has brought and continues to bring freedom and healing! The scars no longer carry the pain which they once held! I have been healed!

Too many people give up on recovery and on Christ before the miracle of healing happens! The raw wound’s, never have an opportunity to heal as more gunk is piled on top or its band-aided allowing the wound to fester underneath! Just like a wound can take time in the natural to heal ..so it for the wounds of our whole life that has got us into recovery in the first place! I believe in miraculous healing as I have experienced it in my life.. but for 95% recovery and healing is a process over time! Celebrate Recovery offer’s a systematic Biblical process to allow healing to happen in a safe and supportive community!

Recovery isn’t about a band-aid solution.. its about being set free to live the life in all its fullness that Christ would have us live! To be healed, whole and set free!

Christ never hid his scars when He appeared after He had risen…they were a reminder for all time of his sacrifice, Him bearing all the sins and wounds of mankind so we can be healed and have freedom over our hurts, hang ups and habits!

I can look at the scars and know they are no longer painful anymore; that they don’t affect me like they used to; that they no longer have power over me and the choices I make and that by Jesus ‘strips” I am healed and so can you be!

Isaiah 53:5 (Amp)

But He was wounded for our transgressions, He was bruised for our guilt and iniquities; the chastisement [needful to obtain] peace and well-being for us was upon Him, and with the stripes [that wounded] Him we are healed and made whole.”

Scars Lyrics- Jonny Diaz

She holds for dear life to the ends of the sleeves in her hands,
Covering up lies that she wrote with a razor sharp pen,
And the sting of the blade is no match for the pain
Of the loneliness she’s going through,
But we’ve all been there too.

Praise God we don’t have to hide scars
They just strengthen our wounds, and they soften our hearts.
They remind us of where we have been, but not who we are
So praise God, praise God we don’t have to hide scars

You can still see the mark on his hand where there once was a ring
He watched decades of history dissolve when she wanted to leave
And the hole that it left there inside of his chest
Is a canyon a thousand miles deep
We all know how that feels.

So praise God we don’t have to hide scars
They just strengthen our wounds, and they soften our hearts.
They remind us of where we have been, but not who we are
So praise God, praise God we don’t have to hide scars

There once was a King who so burdened with grief
Walked into death so that we could find peace
He rose up with scars on his hands and his feet
By them we are healed, by them we are healed.

So praise God we don’t have to hide scars
Yeah we know His are covering ours

Penny Australian Encourager
Celebrate Recovery Australia

